is this thing on?

Howdy, welcome to my new mouthpiece.  This ain’t your daddy’s Nashville.  Or maybe it is; that’d be cool.  Anyway, that’s not the point…what it is IS is an attempt at navigating my world view through a narrowish focus.  An attempt at defining my space in the context of space.  Thinking global and reacting local.  I’m an expat from the Middle West who discovered a magical hidden place in South America; and I wanna share my infatuation with you.  It’s a place informed by legends and ghosts of legends, and populated by modernists like corndawgs and deer ticks.  It tastes like handmade chocolate & marshmallows and beer, and smells like vinyl and leather.  It sounds like the past/future and feels like fall, all the time.  And, in my head, it’s always looked like Jon Langford paintings.  And it’s going to be the springboard for my ramblings: about art, america(ana), letters, fatherhood, nothingness, culture, flavor, somethingness, husbandhood, design, humanity…and music.  And there might be a video or two for you to watch at the end.  Y’all come back now.

Categories: bang candy, grimey's, jon langford, nashville, olive & sinclair | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “is this thing on?

  1. julia

    You’re so cool. If anyone should be in charge of the archiving of Nashville culture (past & present), I think you’re a damn fine choice.

  2. Brad,
    are you still a cheese monger, or at least I know you are a beer/chocolate/ice cream lover?

    If you are would you like to do a pairings post like this:
    http://www.gprecs.com/2012/02/27/pairings-jim-bocky-barnes-of-pretty-things-beer-and-ale-project/
    or
    http://www.gprecs.com/2012/02/14/pairings-matthew-sage-of-patient-sounds-intl/

    but you would be doing cheeses/chocolates/or something and songs?

    Thoughts, concerns?

    I feel bad I haven’t posted in a while. I think about you often, and always read. Just added this feed to my RSS.

    cheers,
    tom

  3. Tom!

    I woul love to be involved. I’m still cheese and chocolate mongering, and think I could come up with more than a few pairings. There are plenty of great cheeses and chocolates from all over, made by folks just as diverse. Sorry I haven’t gotten back to you sooner, but we we’re travelling last week. Let me know what you’re thoughts are. Thanks for thinking of me; I think of you often, as well. Come to Nashville!

    Brad

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.